SimpleFilings
EmailCall 020 3835 4766Chat online

Side-by-side comparison

SimpleFilings vs 1st Formations for confirmation statements and company filings

1st Formations is a company formation agent that also files routine Companies House forms. SimpleFilings is a filing service: you pay £4.99 per filing, with any government fee included in the total price, and there is no subscription.

Prices and details checked

At a glance

Prices checked on 6 October 2026. 1st Formations prices are listed excluding VAT. Inc-VAT figures add 20% where their pages make the VAT clear.
Filing1st Formations (ex VAT)1st Formations (inc VAT)SimpleFilings service feeCompanies House feeSimpleFilings total
Confirmation statement (CS01), standard: 3 working days£75.99 (includes £50 CH fee)Plus VAT (total not stated)£4.99£50, included in the total£54.99
Confirmation statement (CS01), express: 1 working day£85.99 (includes £50 CH fee)Plus VAT (total not stated)One price, no express fee£50, included in the total£54.99
Dormant company accounts (AA02), standard: 3 working days£49.99£59.99£4.99None£4.99
Dormant company accounts (AA02), express: 1 working day£79.99£95.99One price, no express feeNone£4.99
Director appointment or resignation£49.99 per appointment or resignation (£99.98 for both)£59.99 each (£119.98 for both)£4.99 per form (AP01 and TM01 are two filings)None£4.99 for one, £9.98 for both

This page compares the three recurring filings 1st Formations prices publicly: the confirmation statement, dormant company accounts and director changes. Their prices are taken from their own pages, checked on 6 October 2026. Their pricing page says prices are subject to VAT at 20%. Their confirmation statement price includes the £50 Companies House fee, and their pages do not say how VAT is worked out on that part, so we show their confirmation statement prices before VAT only.

Prices and features can change, so check each provider’s own page before you decide.

On this page

Comparing like with like

The confirmation statement is where the headline prices look most different, so it helps to separate the parts.

1st Formations' standard price of £75.99 includes the £50 Companies House fee. That leaves £25.99 for their service, before VAT. Their express price of £85.99 leaves £35.99 for their service, before VAT.

At SimpleFilings the £4.99 service fee covers our work. The £50 Companies House fee is included in the total, so the total is £54.99.

Dormant accounts and director changes carry no Companies House fee, so those figures compare directly.

Worked example: one year for a dormant company

A dormant company usually needs one confirmation statement and one set of dormant accounts each year.

Using 1st Formations' standard services: £75.99 plus £49.99 is £125.98 before VAT. This includes the £50 Companies House fee. VAT at 20% is added to the dormant accounts price. Their pages do not say how VAT applies to the £50 fee inside the confirmation statement price.

Using SimpleFilings: £4.99 plus £50 for the confirmation statement, and £4.99 for the dormant accounts. That is £59.98 in total, including the £50 Companies House fee.

If you add a director change in the same year, add £49.99 plus VAT per appointment or resignation at 1st Formations, or £4.99 per form at SimpleFilings.

What each option includes

1st Formations' confirmation statement page lists completion and filing of the CS01, plus reporting changes to SIC codes, shareholder information and the statement of capital. Their dormant accounts service covers completing and filing form AA02 and confirming that Companies House has accepted the accounts.

SimpleFilings prepares the filing from your instructions, checks it and submits it once you approve it. You pay £4.99 per filing. There is no subscription and no annual package.

1st Formations' director service includes an appointment or resignation letter and a board resolution, as well as the Companies House filing. SimpleFilings files the form only.

Before you file a confirmation statement

Companies House now requires directors to verify their identity. For a SimpleFilings confirmation statement, every current director must have completed identity verification and supplied their personal code. This is a different code from the company authentication code.

If a director has not verified yet, do that first. Verifying through GOV.UK One Login is free. Whichever service you use, the statement cannot be completed until the director requirements are met.

  • Company number and authentication code
  • Each director's Companies House personal code
  • Any changes to SIC codes, shareholders or share capital
  • Your review period end date, from the Companies House register

Who each option suits

SimpleFilings suits company owners who know which filing they need and want to pay a small fee for each one, with no subscription.

1st Formations may suit you if you are forming a new company, want a stated express filing time of 1 working day, or want one provider to handle formation and ongoing compliance together.

When another option may suit you better

  • You are forming a company. 1st Formations sells formation packages, listed from £102.99. That price includes the £100 Companies House fee, which their pricing page says is not subject to VAT. SimpleFilings does not offer company incorporation.
  • You need a filing done fast. 1st Formations offers an express service for confirmation statements and dormant accounts, filed within 1 working day of receiving the information. SimpleFilings has one price with no express tier. For dormant accounts we aim to submit the same day once the information, director approval and payment are complete, but Companies House acceptance may take longer.
  • You want an ongoing compliance package. 1st Formations lists a Hassle-Free Compliance Service at £149.99 plus VAT.
  • You prefer one provider for both company formation and ongoing compliance filings.
  • You want the board paperwork prepared with a director change. 1st Formations' director service includes an appointment or resignation letter and a board resolution. SimpleFilings files the Companies House form only.

Frequently asked questions

How much does 1st Formations charge for a confirmation statement?

On 6 October 2026 their page listed £75.99 for standard (filed within 3 working days) and £85.99 for express (1 working day). Both include the £50 Companies House fee. Their pricing page says all prices are subject to VAT at 20%. Their pages do not say how VAT is worked out on the £50 fee part, so check the total at checkout.

How much does a confirmation statement cost with SimpleFilings?

£4.99 service fee plus the £50 Companies House fee, included in the total. That is £54.99 in total. If the company's 12 month payment period has already been paid, no further Companies House fee is due, and we check this before filing.

Is there a Companies House fee for dormant accounts or director changes?

No. Dormant accounts (AA02), appointing a director (AP01) and removing a director (TM01) carry no Companies House filing fee. The price you pay is the service fee only.

Do I need a subscription to use SimpleFilings?

No. You pay £4.99 each time you file. Applicable government fees are included in the total price.

What do directors need before a confirmation statement can be filed?

Each current director must have verified their identity with Companies House and have a personal code. We ask for these codes when you file with us.

Ready? Search for your company.

Chat online