SimpleFilings
EmailCall 020 3835 4766Chat online

Your options compared

How much it costs to keep a company dormant each year

A dormant company still files two things with Companies House every year: a confirmation statement and dormant accounts. The confirmation statement carries a £50 Companies House fee when filed online.

Prices and details checked

At a glance

Show fees, VAT and turnaround for each optionShow totals only
Yearly cost of a dormant company's two Companies House filings, as published on 6 October 2026, cheapest first. The £50 Companies House confirmation statement fee is included in every yearly total.
OptionConfirmation statementDormant accounts£50 Companies House feeYearly totalVAT
File both yourselfNo service feeNo service feePaid by you£50.00No VAT on the government fee
SimpleFilings, pay per filing£4.99 service fee£4.99 service feeIncluded in the total£59.98No VAT is added to the £4.99 service fee; the total includes applicable government fees
File Confirmation Statements + File Dormant Accounts£9.99£8.99Paid on top of the £9.99£68.98No VAT wording on either page
Inform Direct pay as you go (software, you file)£15 + VAT£25 + VATPaid on top£98.00 (£40 + £8 VAT + £50)Prices shown exclude VAT
Easy Dormant Accounts packageIncluded in packageIncluded in packageIncluded£99No VAT wording on its page
Formationswise bundleIncluded in bundleIncluded in bundleIncluded£118.00 + VATVAT added; how it applies to the £50 part is not stated
1st Formations, Quality Company Formations or Rapid Formations (standard)£75.99 + VAT, £50 fee included£49.99 + VATIncluded in the confirmation statement price£125.98 + VATVAT added; how it applies to the £50 part is not stated
Companies Made Simple bundleIncluded in bundleIncluded in bundleIncluded£149.99 + VATVAT added; how it applies to the £50 part is not stated
Your Company Formations£90 + VAT, £50 fee included£118 + VATIncluded in the confirmation statement price£208.00 + VATVAT added; how it applies to the £50 part is not stated

Companies House does not charge a fee for filing annual accounts. So the lowest yearly cost is £50, if you file both yourself. With SimpleFilings it is £4.99 per filing plus the £50 fee, which is £59.98 a year. This page sets out what each provider charges for the same two filings, using prices published on their own websites on 6 October 2026.

Prices and features can change, so check each provider’s own page before you decide.

On this page

What a dormant company has to file

GOV.UK says every company, including dormant and non-trading companies, must file a confirmation statement at least once a year. It also says a dormant company must still file annual accounts. A company that is both small and dormant can file simpler dormant accounts.

The confirmation statement costs £50 online or £110 on paper. You pay the fee only with the first statement in each 12 month payment period, and can then file more statements in that period without paying again. You must file it no later than 14 days after your review period ends. The Companies House fees list does not show a fee for filing a UK company's annual accounts.

The yearly cost, in short

The government cost of keeping a company dormant is usually £50 a year, the confirmation statement fee. Everything else on this page is the price of a service or software.

Filing both yourself costs £50. SimpleFilings costs £59.98. Of the other providers we checked, the lowest published yearly total was £68.98, from the separate File Confirmation Statements and File Dormant Accounts services. Formation agent prices for the same two filings ran from £118.00 + VAT to £208.00 + VAT.

What each option includes

SimpleFilings charges a £4.99 service fee per filing. There is no subscription. For dormant accounts, we prepare qualifying dormant accounts and file them once a director approves them. For the confirmation statement, we check the company details with you and file once you approve. The total price includes the £50 Companies House fee when due. We check whether it is due before filing.

File Confirmation Statements charges £9.99 plus the £50 Companies House fee, and File Dormant Accounts charges £8.99. Both say they submit the same day and have no subscriptions. The confirmation statement service pre-fills the details Companies House already holds; changes to directors, shareholders, PSCs, address or SIC codes have to be made separately.

Inform Direct is software you file through yourself. Its pay as you go prices are £15 + VAT for a confirmation statement, plus the Companies House fee, and £25 + VAT for dormant accounts.

Easy Dormant Accounts sells a yearly package covering both filings for £99, including the £50 Companies House fee. Its page shows this reduced from £105.

Formationswise's bundle prepares and files both filings for a company that has never traded, for £118.00 + VAT including the Companies House fee. Companies Made Simple sells a similar bundle for £149.99 + VAT, also including the Companies House fee.

1st Formations, Quality Company Formations and Rapid Formations each charge £75.99 + VAT for a standard confirmation statement, including the £50 fee, and £49.99 + VAT for standard dormant accounts. Each says these services renew annually. Your Company Formations charges £90 + VAT for a confirmation statement, including the £50 fee, and £118 + VAT for dormant accounts.

Worked example: one year's filings

  • Do it yourself: £50 Companies House fee, and nothing for the dormant accounts filing.
  • SimpleFilings: £4.99 for the confirmation statement + £4.99 for the dormant accounts + £50 Companies House fee = £59.98.
  • File Confirmation Statements + File Dormant Accounts: £9.99 + £50 + £8.99 = £68.98, as published.
  • Inform Direct pay as you go: £15 + £25 = £40, plus £8 VAT, plus the £50 fee = £98.00.
  • Easy Dormant Accounts package: £99, including the £50 fee, as published.
  • Formationswise bundle: £118.00 + VAT, including the £50 fee. That leaves £68.00 plus VAT for the agent's service.
  • 1st Formations, Quality Company Formations or Rapid Formations: £75.99 + £49.99 = £125.98 + VAT, including the £50 fee.
  • If you have already paid the £50 fee in the current 12 month payment period, the Companies House part is £0. Ask any provider whose price includes the fee how they treat that case.

Who each option suits

A bundle or annual renewal suits owners who want one yearly price, reminders, and someone else to handle both filings each year without thinking about it. It can also suit someone who values ongoing customer support and a stated turnaround.

Paying per filing suits owners who are happy to confirm their own details and approve each filing, and want to keep the yearly spend close to the government fee. You pay £4.99 only when you file.

Software suits owners who want to file themselves but have the forms laid out for them.

Filing yourself suits owners who are comfortable with Companies House's online services and already know their dates.

Before you choose

  • Check the company really was dormant for the whole financial year.
  • Check whether you have already paid the £50 confirmation statement fee for this payment period.
  • Have your company number and authentication code ready.
  • Make sure all directors have completed Companies House identity verification and have their personal codes.
  • Compare prices on the same basis: with or without VAT, and with or without the £50 fee.

When another option may suit you better

  • An agent bundle or annual renewal is better if you want the filings to happen each year without you starting them.
  • An agent is better if you want lifetime customer support, a stated turnaround and express options for single filings.
  • Easy Dormant Accounts, Formationswise and Companies Made Simple each sell one price that covers both filings and the £50 fee.
  • File Confirmation Statements and File Dormant Accounts say they will resolve the issue or refund you if Companies House rejects a filing.
  • Filing yourself is cheaper if you are confident using Companies House's online services, as you pay only the £50 fee.

Frequently asked questions

How much does it cost to keep a company dormant each year?

Usually £50 a year in government fees, for the confirmation statement. There is no Companies House fee for dormant accounts. With SimpleFilings filing both, the total is £59.98. Agent bundles we checked cost from £99 to £149.99 + VAT.

Does a dormant company have to file a confirmation statement?

Yes. GOV.UK says every company, including dormant and non-trading companies, must file a confirmation statement at least once a year. The online fee is £50.

Is there a Companies House fee for dormant accounts?

No. The Companies House fees list does not show a fee for filing a UK company's annual accounts.

What is the total yearly cost with SimpleFilings?

£4.99 for each of the two filings plus the £50 Companies House fee, which comes to £59.98. There is no subscription.

Do the bundle prices include the £50 fee?

Yes, for the bundles on this page. Easy Dormant Accounts (£99), Formationswise (£118.00 + VAT) and Companies Made Simple (£149.99 + VAT) each say their bundle includes the Companies House fee.

What if I file more than one confirmation statement in a year?

GOV.UK says you only pay the £50 fee with the first statement in each 12 month payment period. You can file more statements in that period without a further fee.

Keep reading

All comparisons
Sources (20), checked

Ready? Search for your company.

Chat online